I would dye 4u

Colour is very interesting. Some creatures don’t see all the colours that we can see with the human eye, for instance dogs see mostly blues, yellows and violets. And the Mantis shrimp eye contains 12 colour receptors whereas the human eye has 3, so logic would suggest that their world is more colourful than ours.

Colour can affect the mood. It can affect how someone views another, and we often use it as an outward reflection of our own inward colour palette. The colour we choose to dye our hair, the lipstick we wear, the colour of lingerie we choose when we want to feel seductive etc. We even talk about the colour of money. So all in all colour is actually a pretty big thing in our world.

My favourite colour is blue. Which isn’t reflected in my wardrobe. And one of my least favourite colours is pink. Hands up if you can spot the tomboy in the room.

I’m not a pink hater. I prefer rose champagne ( not an everyday beverage for me I like the Aerosmith song about the colour. I have gym leggings with some very vibrant pink accents. I have pink socks. I may even have pink undergarments. But all in all, it doesn’t resonate with me.

But purple is somewhere altogether more fascinating. It comes in many shades and to my mind, the deeper the shade, the deeper the secrets it holds.

I’m of an age where I remember Prince and his easy purple stage. Back when he was called Prince. I remember purple rain even though I’ve never seen the movie. I was very young, but I remember him as being very exciting. And dare I say it, sexy! He may have been shorter than me, but he packed quite a punch.

So I decided this week to buy some purple dylon and turn some pink purple.

Last year I wrote about making the Deer and Doe Belladone dress in a surprisingly pink fabric.

I love the dress but I think I only wore it once. Which is just a waste of the time and effort I put into making it. But its now purple.

Disappointingly the camper vans have disappeared into the fabric slightly. But the more I looked at it, the more it just looked like a really cool batik print. And what self respecting hippy doesn’t like a batik print?!

The original thread matched the light pink fabric perfectly. But it didn’t take the dye, meaning I was left with a very light coloured contrast which showed up some very dodgy stitching.

Not to worry, I have just the perfect colour of thread. So I carefully unpicked the visible stitching and restricted using purple. And I now have a much more wearable dress.

With minimal effort, I have a new dress to wear. Which will be coming to an office near you very soon…..

If you have something you love but the colour has faded or your love for the colour has faded, don’t give up. Be bold. Buy some dye and bring it back to life.

Leave a comment